Shopping Cart

Baker Boy


Gela. Say it out loud, say it with pride, with the honour and respect it deserves: GE-lah.

You’ve met the bright-eyed, ferociously talented rapper Danzal Baker under a handful of names — the Fresh Prince of Arnhem Land, Baker Boy, the “proud blak Yolngu boy with the killer flow”. Now, he’s ready for you to meet him as Gela: his skin name, and one of the truest markers of his identity. Miles Davis famously said that an artist should only release a self-titled record when they know themselves well, know themselves truly, and when their music can reflect that.

“Gela is who I am and it’s my story.”

1. Announcing The Journey (performed by Glen Gurruwiwi)
2. Survive ft. Uncle Jack Charles
3. My Mind ft. G Flip
4. Ride ft. Yirrmal
5. Butterflies
6. Cool As Hell
7. Move
8. Headphones ft. Lara Andallo
9. Somewhere Deep ft. Yirrmal
10. Funk Wit Us
11. Stupid Dumb
12. Meditjin ft. JessB
13. Ain't Nobody Like You ft. Jerome Farah
14. MYWD